What is ISO/IEC 17021?

ISO/IEC 17021 is a standard that was created for assessing accreditation bodies to ensure that they are competent and that they conform to all types of management systems. These organizations are usually called accreditation bodies (AB). A new version of ISO/IEC 17021 was published in 2015. The standard helps promise that AB are impartial and that the results of their audit are consistent.

Buy a Copy of the ISO/IEC 17021 Standard.

History of 17021

The original ISO/IEC 17021 was published in 2006. According to this first publication, accredited IAF MLA management system accreditation bodies were given two years from the first date of publication to conform to the standard. In 2011, there was a revision that was focused on competence, and all AB were given two years to conform to the new standard.

Related 17021 Standards

ISO/IEC 17021 was designed for all management systems, along with this standard, several other versions of 17021 have been published to meet the needs of specific management systems.




Our All-in-One Accreditation Package is a proven, efficient system. It gives you all you need to prepare for accreditation – in one simple to use package.

Customer Review:

"I have just passed my Audit with zero non-conformances for the second year in a row using your ISO products to write my entire QMS. Thank you for producing documents of this quality"

Bettye Patrick

Buy the Standard

45001 Store Logo  ISO 17025: 2017